Contest Prep…isn’t really a typical day!

Posted: June 17, 2011 in Diet/Food, Experience, Training

Well everyone knows I’m in contest prep. I am 8 weeks out from my next competition which is August 13.

Contest prep is never fun, I find myself thinking about everything I do and more so everything I put in my mouth. How will that effect my…energy levels, and diet goals.

So just to give you a little insight into my daily routine during prep…follow along. (this is how the last 6 weeks will go…give or take a little cardio)

6:00 am: Up early (with a cup of coffee) and to head to the gym for an early round of cardio. I prefer the Stairmill, now that I have mastered that machine I can text, tweet, and read my 45 mins away.

7:00 am: Now home for a shower,get the child off to school, and breakfast. Oh and we can’t forget another cup of coffee.

Breakfast consist of 1 cup of egg whites, 1 whole egg, 2/3 cup of lite turkey sausage, and 1/2 cup of oats. Now it’s time to get to work.

10:30 am: Snack time, 3-4 oz of chicken and 1 cup of green beans. I pre make all my meals so I can just stick in micro and go.

1:00 pm: Lunch time, 5 oz chicken, 1 cup of broccoli, and 75g of yams ( if it’s leg or back day). Otherwise no yams just green veggies.

Now it’s time to start getting ready to head to the gym to see my trainer Chris. This get’s interesting, the gym is an hour away…so eating in the car has become a ritual.

3:30 pm: Protein shake (sugar free of course), 1 oz of almonds. I will also start my pre-work drink and try to time so I am finishing as I roll up to the gym.

4:30 pm: Workout time – time to lift heavy, and do lots of reps. Over the last year we (the royal “we”) have tried a couple of different routines, but we have most recently seen the best results with long single muscle group sessions. They typically consist of 8 or 9 exercises, hitting both prime movers and stabilizer muscles. Each exercise “we” are doing a warm-up set then working sets- between 6-8 sets with 8-10 reps and always heavy. One of the biggest differences in our workouts is “we” take longer rest between set, normal 3 minutes, so this can make for lots of time at the gym. I normally lift for 2 – 2.5 hours.

6:45 pm: Post workout protein. I like to make “protein brownies”…its not really a brownie but the are good, quick and easy. I just mix protein powder into a thick consistency and cook in microwave. It make a brownie of sorts and  holds me over till I can get home for my last real meal.

Now for the hour drive home…Uggg! But I would not trade Chris for the world so I continue to make the trek 2 – 4 days a week.

8:15 pm: Dinner -6oz of chicken, 3-4 cups of stir fry veggies. I buy the pre bagged ones from Trader Joe’s. It has bean sprouts, bok choy, cabbage and a few peas. I found a stir fry sauce for flavor, it has 5 carbs, so 1 Tbs and stirfry in the wok. Yum this is my favorite meal.

I am not a very creative person when it comes to contest prep food…I will eat these same things for the entire duration of contest prep. I might substitute shrimp, scallops or halibut every once in a while but that it the extent of change.

During last 3 weeks only:

9:30 pm: Back to the gym for another round of cardio.

I find contest prep easy, mostly because it has a start and end and there are very specific rules to follow. It’s the time not in prep that is the biggest challenge for me. I find I need that accountability.

Hope this gives you insight into my day during contest prep.

 

 

Comments
  1. Freddie says:

    Sounds like a full-time job!

  2. Dad says:

    Which ‘kid’ is off to school?

    Dad

  3. Stephanie says:

    I’m not to far into my prep yet but so far I’d have to agree, it’s the accountability that I really love. I like being on a schedule. Keeps things controlled :)

  4. Juliet says:

    I feel the same way about prep, I love the structure. I maintain the same structure, more or less, in my off season but with some wiggle room and a lot less stress. Protein brownies were one of my favorite ways to get around my sweet tooth as well.

    What are you prepping for?

  5. Allison Siemens says:

    You are an inspiration, Liz! You are no -nonsense and down-to-earth. So excited to cheer you on in your next competition!

  6. Dawn says:

    I’m kind of boring when it comes to meals also. Not that I don’t like change…I guess I’m afraid of adding in something bad.

  7. Dad says:

    Soooooo… Does this leaves out biscuits and gravy?

  8. I love the break down of your day and everything you eat too!

    Looking forward to continuing your journey with you.

  9. Amy says:

    love seeing how you eat during contest prep! im thinking about signing up for one and was always curious about a typical day. thanks!

  10. i just saw on your bodybuilding profile that you’re from aliso viejo! i’m from dana point. well i do to school in northern california now. but that’s my hometown :)

  11. this is good information for someone interested in competing

Leave a Reply

