Dig Deep…it’s all within

Posted: May 6, 2011 in Experience, Motivation

I have listened to and read things that other figure competitors have had to endure from friends, family and colleagues while trying to stay focused on the task of contest prep. The endless banter about the foods they eat, their “opinion” of the countless hours that have been spent in the gym and for what? It does not encourage nor is it supportive of the monumental task at hand.

I count myself lucky. I have not really had to endure any of this negative feedback during contest prep. While unless you count the chicken stir-fry strike my son went on…but I guess 3 weeks of the same exact meal, for most is a little much.

I am also one of those people that once I set my mind to something; I let nothing get in my way to complete my goal. Now this doesn’t mean that I have it easy, I tend to be very critical of myself and cause self-doubt within. There were several times during contest prep that I was just ready to throw in the towel because I was not living up to my own expectation, but there was one thing that stopped me. I am not a Quitter! This is just something I could not live with…so I dig deep within to find the resolve to finish what I started.

I love the quote “If you think the pain is bad now. Quitting lasts forever.”  This has turned into my mantra.

I first saw this on the back of a shirt while I ran behind this man during my first marathon. At first I didn’t think anything about it because I was killing it, but mile 19 came and all I wanted to do was sit on the sidewalk…but this man run past again and I read his shirt. The next 7.2 miles I chanted “If you think the pain is bad now. Quitting lasts forever.” to myself and out loud.

It is amazing how powerful those words are to me, they allow me to dig deep and keep going even when my mind and body have had enough. I believe this is what makes a true competitor…inner resolve.

Find out how other in the Fitness Blog World achieve their goals:

Comments
  1. Allison Siemens says:

    I love this post! That mantra is exactly what I’m saying to myself during the difficult legs of my half marthons also!! It is a very powerful thing to value your goal and just not allow yourself to quit for anything!! Awesome 🙂

  2. Hi Just found your site, I am at the beginnin of my journey to the figure stage. Expecting it to take 2 years cause I have over 100 lbs to lose. Your posts will help me know what to expect and how to go about it. thank you

Leave a Reply

