Blogging while on the bike…I do have an hour to kill.

Posted: February 2, 2011 in Training

This entry is being completed while I spin away on the bike, got an hour ahead of me so should put it to good use.

So I am about 7 weeks out from competition. You would think I would be scared,but no just getting really excited. I know I still have a long way to go, but I have come so far. I have been working at this pretty much non-stop since August. I am down about 10% body fat and about 10 lbs…I have added some muscle mass and on my way to some great definition.

Look where I am January 22, 2010

It has been a long road and there have been many days where I have wanted to just give up. But anyone that knows me knows that is not an option.
For example 2 years ago I said I was going to run the LA marathon, I trained…but not like a marathon runner. The most miles I logged in 1 run was just over 15. Not really realizing a marathon is another 11. So I started the race and finished in just over 5 hours. My mantra throughout the race was “if you think this pain is bad the pain of quitting last forever”. I believe this so much it is what will be my next tattoo. I am not a quitter, I will finish strong.

I finished, with a smile on my face...5 hours

I must say that I have encountered some of the best people during this journey. All of the Bikini or Bust gals but especially Donloree (@bikiniorbust) and Michelle (@fit_michelle), these 2 ladies get me through the rough patch…which some days is just getting out of bed. Then the whole Twitter community…always offer advice, encouragement and sometimes just pure entertainment. I know this is an individual sport but I sure feel more of a team than I ever have…so thank you all!

Comments
  1. Faith says:

    Wow Liz – you really have pushed yourself. I am so impressed with your constant and CONSISTENT progress. You are doing awesome and you really are going to dominate that stage – keep killin it sister!

    • 4amaven says:

      Thanks Faith, I think the week before competition I will put up the true before pics…oh they are bad. I can not believe that I let myself go like I did.
      But I am on track and healthier than I have been since high school which was 20 years ago. I also love the community that I have found even if we are all spread across this country…and Canada. Thank you for being part of that!

  2. bikiniorbust says:

    The pain of quitting DOES last forever. You are anything but a quitter. You are inspirational, hardworking, and fantastic. I am so glad to join in on your journey and ride on your coattails of greatness! Woot!

  3. Lisa says:

    You look absolutely fantastic! I LOVE that saying too and it’s so true!

  4. keep up the great work, Liz. you’re so right about the pain of quitting. just not an option for you!

  5. michelle says:

    wow thanks for the shout out ! You really inspire M – E ! :)

  6. rebecca says:

    wow. you look awesome. that back pic is great

Leave a Reply

